Unity Day


Sorry I haven’t been posting recently guys! I have been SO busy with schoolwork. But finally, it is almost Thanksgiving break and I have time to start the “Makeup” page and post more!

So what is unity day? Well it is a day that my school has where all sophomores get together in the gym and “unite”. Basically, we say our feelings and our problems and what-not so people will understand us better and recognize sophomores as a family, not just a grade level. Well I really thought that it was going to be a cheesy motivational team-bonding type games day and that everyone would end up crying. I also heard last year, everyone actually did end up in tears. First, a motivational speaker came in to lecture us on this Unity Day concept. Then we played a few team-bonding games where we met sophomores we never really met before. Then after that, we got in little groups and shared our feelings and issues in life.

Well the point of this post is to tell you guys what I learned at Unity Day. First of all, I learned not to judge people on how they look. I honestly am really judgmental because well…I’m just really into appearance. I love nice and stylish clothes and makeup and hair. I love guys that wear khakis and collared shirts and awesome shoes. It’s just one of my interests. I shouldn’t judge people so much because I don’t know what they really are like. I wouldn’t know if they lost a loved one, lived in a divorced household, did drugs, cut themselves, etc. Once my group shared with me their actual experiences in life, I felt really bad for judging them. I didn’t know their story, so why would I have a right to judge them? Everyone had their own share of bad experiences in their life, and I should be considerate of that.

Next, I learned how life isn’t just about the bad experiences in life. It’s also about the good experiences. I should be so thankful that I can live the life that I live now. I have clothes that I like, I have this blog, I have you guys, I have more than I could ever ask for! Why should I remember life because of the bad experiences? I should remember the good memories; hanging out with friends, going to the beach, going to ice skating competitions, writing on my blog, shopping, eating dinner with my family, and so on. I would love to look back on this time and remember all these things! What I don’t want to remember is how I fought with my parents so much, how I always argued with my sister, how much I dislikes specific people, etc. Of course those experiences will always be in my mind, but they should run my life.

The last thing I learned is that my grade, my friends, my enemies, my school; we are all a family. I may dislike or like people more than others, but that shouldn’t change family. We see each other 5 days a week for 7 hours a day, we have become a family. These people have been in my life for such a long time and I should love them. As much as some people have hurt me or ruined some of my high school experiences or hated me, I shouldn’t let that get to me. I shouldn’t be a reclusive girl who can only think about hating. I will never forget these people(well maybe I will because I have bad memory…) and this family has really shaped me. The good part of me.

I thank you guys, the followers, so much for following my blog! You guys are the BEST and I can’t even say how thankful I am for your support! You guys have convinced me to start up my blog again and keep it running! I love you guys so much! And no matter how much I get criticized for this blog or how much hate I get for it, I will always love you guys and keep running this blog until the very end!

XOXO ~Angela

Leave a Reply

